Cream Cheese Buttercream - Decorating For Dummies?

Decorating By chilz822 Updated 8 Feb 2009 , 2:17am by kjt

chilz822 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chilz822 Posted 5 Feb 2009 , 6:15pm
post #1 of 11

Good afternoon all...
I'm looking for advice and suggestions. I'm very much a beginner, I've gotten a few successful fondant cakes under my belt (yayyy!). I'm definately hooked.

I need to make a birthday for someone I work with. She asked for strawberries and cream cheese. I've decided on a strawberry flavored cake with a cream cheese buttercream.

I have never tried to decorate with BC before, only with fondant. My question is... what are some easy 'beginner' decorating ideas that will make me look like I know what the heck I'm doing? I need to have this done by Tuesday, and not sure if that's enough time to learn the traditional shells and roses. I want a pretty cake that will be forgiving of me as a beginner.

Any thoughts?

10 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 6 Feb 2009 , 8:38pm
post #2 of 11

Here's all the info (including recipes) I have on cream cheese frosting:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-615264-.html

HTH

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 6 Feb 2009 , 8:53pm
post #3 of 11

The shell border is fairly easy. You should be able to master it in the time you have with no problem. Drop flowers are also very pretty and are insanely simple to make.

chilz822 Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 6:04am
post #4 of 11

Wow, thank you all for the info! I think I'm going to play it safe and make the strawberry cake, cream cheese frosting, surrounded by Pirouettes and topped with strawberries. I saw some pics in the galleries and they were very nice... and look super-simple but impressive!

Jan, you are an amazing database! Your links have helped me more times than I can tell you!

FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 7 Feb 2009 , 7:19pm
post #5 of 11