Need All The Help I Can Get! [Fodant Help]

Decorating By Ozzy7388 Updated 9 Mar 2009 , 10:19am by Tinabug1979

Ozzy7388 Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 7:54am
post #1 of 6

So I am a culinary school graduate from Campbell which is in the San Jose area in California. It is a very hot climate and while I was living there, using fondant was a piece of cake!!

A couple months back I moved to a colder area of the bay and in my house the air is always cold even with the heater on full blast. Since I moved, all the cakes I've made (with fondant covering) tends to crack at the edges. First I was using cheap fondant from Michael's then paid up and bought a big bucket of Satin Ice. Still cracking!! Of course I am using powdered sugar but how can I not when the fondant eventually gets too sticky or sticks to the table.
I've tried:
microwaving the fondant
using olive oil and shorting
turning up the heater to max
using different thick/thin-ness

Anyway...I am making a 3 tier baby shower cake in 2 weeks. It's my first paying cake so I NEED TO MAKE SURE THE CRACKING DOES NOT HAPPEN.
Throw me all the advice you can!!

PLEASE HELP!

5 replies
CheriN Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 10:17am
post #2 of 6

Welcome here! Something that I have done before with my fondant that has been cracking is knead a bit of water... for me this worked great... made it mold together again... especially if you are rolling it out with PS I think this should work fine for you. Maybe first try it on a small sample to make sure that it handles the way you want... just to be safe. HTH!

eilidh Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 10:48am
post #3 of 6

Hi

Not sure if I can help but I live in england which is VERY cold at the moment! I don't have this problem, but use as little powdered sugar as poss when rolling out, and also knead it for a ggood while before rolling, also try and keep it to a medium thickness, I found if I did it too thin it did start to crack. Hope you sort it out in time!

HowCoolGomo1 Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 11:45am
post #4 of 6