Homemade Rolled Fondant

Decorating By stephscakes0421 Updated 4 Feb 2009 , 3:26am by artsywest

stephscakes0421 Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 5:04pm
post #1 of 7

I've been looking around some, and I need some advice. I'm just getting started making cakes. I took the classes a while back, then moved into the itty bittiest kitchen ever and stopped making them. Blah blah blah, sorry - I have some questions about rolled fondant. Is it worth it to make your own? I tried two different recipes, and I couldn't get the texture right, at all. Does any one have any suggestions? I read quite a bit about Satin Ice, so I may just try that.

6 replies
Beckalita Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 5:55pm
post #2 of 7

I have issues with homemade fondant myself, both marshmallow fondant and Michelle Foster's recipe.....it is never the same consistancy from batch to batch, sometimes too soft & stretchy, sometimes too dry & cracking or tearing. Give Satin Ice or Pettinice a try, you may be pleasantly surprised!!!

artsywest Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 6:13pm
post #3 of 7

I've had issues with homemade mmf too- it was ok for making flowers and decorations, but I ran into trouble when I tried to cover a large cake. I bought Satin Ice and was going to give that a try, when I thought of a brilliant idea. ( or dumb idea, however you look at it.)Why don't I mix the two and see if I can't stretch the expensive Satin Ice by adding much cheaper mmf? I had great success with making flowers, but I haven't tried covering a large cake yet. Has anyone else tried this?

Beckalita Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 6:25pm
post #4 of 7

not with mmf, but I have successfully mixed Michelle Fosters's fondant & Satin Ice and covered square & round cakes with it...

stephscakes0421 Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 6:35pm
post #5 of 7

thanks for the replies! I'm going to order some of the Satin Ice. I'll try the mixing idea.
I like the texture of Wilton's, but it's just awful to eat.

MacsMom Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 7:00pm
post #6 of 7