Need Help Using A Gumpaste People Mold

Decorating By xstitcher Updated 4 Feb 2009 , 7:35pm by tonedna

xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 6:45am
post #1 of 12

Hi All,

I was wondering if anyone has used the following mold and if so how do you go about using it with gp?

Do you recommend using cornstarch/powder sugar or shortening to help release the pieces?

How do you get the back and the front pieces attached together?

Do you have to let it set for a bit and then remove and if so for how long? If you do let it set, is it harder to "glue" all the pieces together (ie torso to legs)?

http://www.countrykitchensa.com/catalog/product.aspx?T=1&ShopId=38&CatId=527&SubCatId=211&productId=2152

I've never used a mold before so any and all help is really appreciated. icon_smile.gif

TIA!

11 replies
CookiezNCupcakez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookiezNCupcakez Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 7:02am
post #2 of 12

I would have to say use shortening... to release I would have to say bang it out gently.... to glue pcs together you could mix a small amount of water w/ fondant and brush the backs and join.. or you could use tylose powder and a little water as glue.. I have never used these molds but I have used letter molds etc I hope this helps

xstitcher Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 8:04pm
post #3 of 12

Thank you Sugardivine. icon_smile.gif

Would anyone happen to know roughly how long it would take to set up before I can take it out of the mold?

TIA icon_biggrin.gif

CookiezNCupcakez Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 8:56pm
post #4 of 12

I never let it set icon_redface.gif

xstitcher Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 11:27pm
post #5 of 12

Do you think that perhaps it may lose it's shape/form this way, or is this the best way to do it? I know you said you haven't done this mold before but I'd still love to get your feedback. Thanks again. icon_smile.gif

tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 12:29am
post #6 of 12