Advice On The Basics Of Fondant

Decorating By KatesCakesBC Updated 3 Feb 2009 , 8:49pm by tastyart

KatesCakesBC Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 10:31pm
post #1 of 12

Hello,

I have been doing amatuer cake decorating for a number of years -- always as gifts and at the request of friends or family for parties -- I never sold any of my cakes. I have always used BC but am finding as my interest grows I want to do cakes that just can't be accomplished with BC and require fondant. I have never used fondant before and quite frankly I'm scared and intimidated by the whole thing icon_smile.gif!

I would love it if a few of you experienced and highly talented cake makers could share some of your tried and true tips on using fondant -- remember I know NOTHING and could use even the most basic of your suggestions - example - how the heck do you attach fondant accents to a fondant covered cake? I've never understood that one... Or how do you get the fondant from the counter onto the cake without wrecking it and messing it all up?

See - I could use all the help I can get icon_smile.gif Thanks, K

11 replies
kakeladi Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 12:18am
post #2 of 12

Have you made/used pie dough? It's just about the sameicon_smile.gif
Have you played w/PlayDough? Or Polymer clay like Scu;py?
It's all basically the same.
You just roll it out and lay it over the cake.
Star w/a smallish cake (8 or 10" round) until you get the hang of handling it.
If at all possible I suggest you take the Wilton class on fondant. They are offered at most (if not all ) Michael's Arts & craft stores.

brincess_b Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 4:09pm
post #3 of 12

fondant is brilliant - my mum used it on a lot of cakes when i was little, so i dont have the fear a lot of people here seem to. the whole buttercream only thing confuses me instead!