Making Wedding Cakes

Business By pinkpiggie78 Updated 2 Mar 2009 , 2:27pm by majka_ze

pinkpiggie78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkpiggie78 Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 1:37am
post #1 of 26

I am in the process of starting my own bakery out of my house, and one thing has been scaring me more than anything... wedding cakes. I have not done one, but my biggest concern is do you take on projects that you haven't done before? In other words a bride comes in with a picture of a cake that you have no idea where to even start, do you decline? I am looking for some guidance here... even with most of the cakes I have done for family and friends have at least "one" first on it, which is why I have been offering, but once the business is going I can't say, "Well I've never done that before... wanna let me practice on one of the biggest days of your life?"

25 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 1:49am
post #2 of 26

If you never do what you've never done, then you'll only do what you've already done. And how will you grow in your skill and your business?

Remember, you did your "first" birthday cake and did fine!

The thing with doing your first wedding cake .... you only have to the first one ONCE .... after that, you're experienced! icon_biggrin.gif

I'll share what I do with a new design. On the home page of my website is my City Skyline cake. I had no real idea how much time it would take or what kind of things I would run into.

What I tell a bride is that since this is a new challenge for me, I'll do it for prototype pricing, which means she gets this cake at my normal flat-rate pricing. Brides JUMP at this opportunity for me and for them! I get to experiment with a new design and they get something really different at a great bargain price! They love the idea that NO ONE is going to get that cake at the price they are paying.