Total Newbie... What To Expect At My First Wilton Class...

Decorating By Redlotusninjagrl Updated 3 Feb 2009 , 5:46am by Skirt

Redlotusninjagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Redlotusninjagrl Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 1:31am
post #1 of 16

Okay, so I was supposed to go to a decorating class with a friend at a local bakery. I was unable to go, but have been lurking here for the past few weeks. I have since registered for a Wilton class at Michael's. I am sure that I would learn more on this site, but I am definitely a visual person so I am hoping I can learn a little better in an actual class. My question to those who have gone through this class or are instructors... what am I supposed to learn? I am sure it is going to be very basic, which is fine with me. There was no description of the class that I could find in the store and the online description was very basic. Also, after taking this, what else would you recommend? The second class looks like it is pretty much all flowers. Do I need to take that to take some of the others? Or all ALL of them the best way to go? Thanks!

15 replies
lacyttfn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lacyttfn Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 2:29am
post #2 of 16

I am a newbie as well. I took 4 Wilton classes and enjoyed them all. After that I took a few more 'advanced' classes at a bakery in town. Like you said, you will learn the basics but when you have a good instructor you will learn much more. I would definaltley go. You always have to start with the basics.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 3:03am
post #3 of 16

It's been more than 5 yrs since I taught so I odn't know hoiw much it might have changed.
The 1st night is all observation. The instru7ction will show you how to make icing; how to ice the cake and what equipment you need (to buy).
2nd night you should learn stars, dots, maybe zigzag, and drop flowers and start on the rose. You bring a cake and decorate it