Football Pan Cake Too Hard On Sides...due Today

Decorating By cathie_shinnick Updated 1 Feb 2009 , 5:27pm by newmansmom2004

cathie_shinnick Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 3:46pm
post #1 of 5

Hi everyone, I posted this in cake disasters too, sorry for two on the same subject but I am desperate.....I have a Lombardi Trophy cake due today for Super Bowl. My problem is that every cake I have made in the football pan (so far 4) have come out with hard sides and bottoms. I am baking at 350 until the center is done. I am using a flower peg in the center. Can anyone help me I am running out of time and I cant give them an uneatable cake.....Please HELP icon_sad.gificon_sad.gificon_sad.gificon_sad.gificon_sad.gif

4 replies
Cakepro Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 5:11pm
post #2 of 5

I would brush the cake liberally with simple syrup since rebaking at this point is not an option.

Simple syrup: 1 cup water to 1 cup sugar. Boil for one minute, add a teaspoon of extract of your choice (optional), and allow to cool to room temp (which you can do faster if you place your saucepan in an ice bath).

Simple syrup is also a wonderful way to deliver different flavors to baked cakes. icon_smile.gif

newmansmom2004 Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 5:23pm
post #3 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by cathie_shinnick

My problem is that every cake I have made in the football pan (so far 4) have come out with hard sides and bottoms. I am baking at 350 until the center is done. I am using a flower peg in the center

My football pan instructions say to bake at 325, which is what I do, and it comes out great. Next time you bake one, try the lower temp. The one time I didn't read the instructions and baked it at 350 the sides and bottom were done but the middle was still raw. Needless to say - totally inedible and into the trash it went.

I know that doesn't really help you today, so I'd try the simple syrup suggested by others on this thread.

Cakerer Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 5:26pm
post #4 of 5