Penis Cake Advice For Newb

Decorating By lmevans Updated 13 Mar 2009 , 2:13am by nolee

lmevans Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lmevans Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 7:49am
post #1 of 8

I am kinda new to cake decorating. I've done some, but I'm no expert or pro, thats for sure!
I'm going to a Passion Party on Monday evening, and we're doing dessert/appetizer potluck. I thought, I should SO make a penis cake!!!

But, I obviously dont have time to buy a penis pan, and I'm not thrilled about carving a penis from a 9x13. Also, I have no experience with fondant, and dont plan to start with this cake!

So...any advice for me?

TIA!

7 replies
sugarwishes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarwishes Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 10:53am
post #2 of 8

It may help to make yourself a template to carve from. Draw it an cut it out, then place over the cake to make carving easier.

peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 12:58pm
post #3 of 8

Its easiest i find to carve one from a loaf pan, just make a loaf cake and two cup cakes cut alittle out of one narrow end of the loaf to fit the cup cakes in there then round the end a bit and round off the long edges of the cake to give the basic shape. Then die your crusting icing to the appropriate color ice the whole thing as one and smooth, if you put the icing on kindof thick you can then use your hands and viva pt to put some of the details in. For the head of the penis, take a tip 12 and draw it on then fill in the head with icing and smooth take a knife and draw the seam and a toothpick to make the hole in the head. A small round tip and you can add hair.

It really is an easy shape to achieve and there isn't any reason to go buy a special pan. And if you want a bigger penis then just use two loafs end to end or the large loaf pan that wilton puts out.

sugarwishes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarwishes Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 1:38pm
post #4 of 8