Chocolate Curls

Decorating By BeeBoos-8599_ Updated 1 Feb 2009 , 5:26pm by BeeBoos-8599_

BeeBoos-8599_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeeBoos-8599_ Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 4:39pm
post #1 of 7

Hi all,
This is my first time posting on this board. I was reading and see that alot of you saw the food netword challenge "birthday bombshell". I can see why alot of you did not like Normans cake but I want to do the chocolate curls on my best friends 50th birthday cake. SO, I just need some pointers on making the curls. I wan them to be short fat curls like the ones on Norman's cake. I would appreciate any pointers you may have. I intend on using white chocolate with pink marbled in. I have not decided on the cake shape probably a half sheet or a large round. it will be torted with 2 flavors so it will stand taller than normal but just one tier. TIA.

6 replies
snowshoe1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowshoe1 Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 7:54pm
post #2 of 7

Hi - I took a class with Zane on the chocolate curls. They are a little tricky to make but once you get the hang of it, they are really easy. Here is how they do it (note: you can do the same thing using a potato peeler on a bar of chocolate but I haven't been able to get the curls to come out really tight on one end and open on the other using the peeler method):

- You can order the 'rose chocolate curler' from thesweetlife.com
- Melt white candy melts in the microwave on 50% power
- Pour some of the melted chocolate on a marble slab (its important to use marble so it cools better)
- Take a bench scraper (the 6" one works well) and begin moving the chocolate around the marble; use a light 'scraping' movement
- the chocolate will begin to take on a dullish look; at this time it is OK to start making your curls