What Is The Earliest You Would Bake A Cake?

Decorating By rocketgirl96 Updated 1 Feb 2009 , 5:18am by rocketgirl96

rocketgirl96 Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 9:19pm
post #1 of 20

I am not a professional baker so I don't bake and decorate cakes on a regular basis. So, I'm used to just baking and decorating a cake the day before or the day of the event. I now have a baby though and I'm finding out that everything takes longer with a baby! icon_smile.gif It would really help me if I could do things in advance but I don't really have any idea how long is too long to have a cake sit out in various stages of the decorating process.....and still have it taste moist and delicious.

Thanks,
Christine

19 replies
janine1972 Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 9:33pm
post #2 of 20

Hi Christine

I bake the day before or the day when the cake is due. Depending on the amount of work that needs to be done.
You could make some of the decorations, flowers etc before hand and then bake it the day before , cover and decorate, but if it is stuff that has to be made to go straight on the cake, i do it just after baking the cake - i like fresh cake.

Though i know there are a lot of ladies out there that bake their cakes eg monday and freeze them till the friday / saturday when needed - you could try that??

I hope there is someone with more information for you - i can only tell you how i do it - sorry!!
And good luck, it is hard work with a baby!!

janine

rvercher23 Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 9:34pm
post #3 of 20

I am not sure of all the exacts, but for me, I bake wed for a sat wedding. I tort fill and ice on thursday, and decorate on Friday. HTH!

coffeecake Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 9:35pm
post #4 of 20

Keep in mind that the area you live and time of year may make a difference. Here in sunny, but seldom hot or humid California, for a large cake I typically bake on day (or evening) #1, decorate evening #2 and serve day #3 with no problems. Many people bake and freeze - I just do not have the freezer space !