How To Pick Up The Top Tier To Stack, Without Messing It Up?

Decorating By lchris Updated 29 Jan 2009 , 2:51pm by leah_s

lchris Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lchris Posted 28 Jan 2009 , 11:03pm
post #1 of 6

I'm still a newbie, so picking up the top tier, I mess it up trying to plop it down on the bottom tier. Any tips? Buttercream is so unforgiving when you stick your fingers underneath to move around. TIA.

5 replies
AllyCake90 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AllyCake90 Posted 28 Jan 2009 , 11:28pm
post #2 of 6

I'm merely assuming that your top tier is on a piece of cardboard. If so, place dowels (equal to the height of your base cake) HALFway into the base cake. [Use 6 or so, spreading them at equal intervals over the area that the top tier will cover] Then, take the top tier (after sliding it carefully to the edge of the counter and sliding it gently onto your hand) and place it GENTLY onto the dowels. The weight of the cake will push the dowels into the cake. Just be sure to hold it by the cardboard bottom until it's about 1" from the top of the base cake, then gently release it. Voila! icon_biggrin.gif

If your top tier isn't on a piece of cake board: Take a piece of cake board and the pan you used to make the top tier. Trace the bottom of the pan onto the cake board using a pencil & cut it out. Using a cake lifter (a cookie sheet with no raised edges will also work) slide it gently under the cake. Then transfer the cake to your cut-out by gently sliding it off of the cake lifter and onto the board.

Good Luck!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 28 Jan 2009 , 11:32pm
post #3 of 6