How Do I Know Which Square Pans To Buy?

Decorating By vtcake Updated 31 Jan 2009 , 10:37am by soygurl

vtcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vtcake Posted 28 Jan 2009 , 2:22pm
post #1 of 15

I know Wilton makes the perfectly square pans. But I just found Fat Daddio's. Which do you use and/or prefer? Thanks from a new cake baker!

14 replies
Kimzie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kimzie Posted 28 Jan 2009 , 2:32pm
post #2 of 15

Hi vtcake,
Well in my personal opinion, I think they both work great. As long as you grease or spray with a baking spray properly. Not sure if this helps you? but I hope it did somewhat. As I'm fairly new to cake decorating myself, I'm still learning. icon_smile.gif

miss_sweetstory Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miss_sweetstory Posted 28 Jan 2009 , 2:35pm
post #3 of 15

I really like Magic Line over either of the brands mentioned. In the end it comes down to what works for you. Look for good deals and give them all a try before you commit to a brand.

vtcake Posted 28 Jan 2009 , 2:44pm
post #4 of 15

Thanks for such quick replies! Lois

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 28 Jan 2009 , 2:45pm
post #5 of 15

Definitely Magic Line all the way. You will never regret buying great pans.

And I would actually purchase the Wilton higher end pans over the Fat Daddio. And I hate almost every product Wilton makes.

soygurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soygurl Posted 30 Jan 2009 , 6:02am
post #6 of 15

Seriously... Magic Line.

I work at a large local bakery (makes cakes four for locations, and 100+ wedding cakes per year), and the difference between our Magic Line pans, and all the other brands* is ASTOUNDING. These pans get a LOT of use, and a LOT of abuse (use every day mostly, thrown into the sink, bashed around, etc.); the other brands are totally bent out of shape and dented. The Magic Line pans look totally fine... clearly not brand new, but NOT dented or bent at all.