Can You Use A Church's Kitchen In Florida?

Business By LILBOBO1980 Updated 13 Mar 2009 , 10:35pm by bellatrixothersis

LILBOBO1980 Posted 27 Jan 2009 , 4:10pm
post #1 of 17

I am a newbie and still learning how to decorate cakes but in the future I would like to start a business. I don't want to work full time but maybe do a couple wedding cakes each month. In Florida I am aware that you have to be liscenced and insured along with using a commercial kitchen.

In general are church kitchens considered commercial? My father in law is a pastor and has been conducting services from his home for years but would like to be able to have a church building so that the congregation can grow. This is something that we will likely be able to turn into a reallity soon and I was thinking that it would be great if I could bake in the church kitchen and then I can just give the church extra money (aside from my tithing) to help with the church rental.

Also.... I have no idea how much insurance runs. About how much should I expect to pay for insurance?

Thanks for any help and advice!

16 replies
newmansmom2004 Posted 27 Jan 2009 , 4:21pm
post #2 of 17

Interesting. I'll bet if the church can get their kitchen licensed as a commercial kitchen then I don't see why you couldn't use that. I think the onus is on the church to make sure they pass "commercial kitchen" status w/the board of health and the state.

The thing to keep in mind is if the church really has no interest in having a commercial kitchen, and they're only doing it for you, then you would probably need to contribute some funds to aid in getting that commercial status.

Keep us posted on how it all turns out. Very interesting idea.

Chef_Rinny Posted 27 Jan 2009 , 4:27pm
post #3 of 17