Using Sugarveil

Decorating By Karenelli Updated 30 Jan 2009 , 3:29pm by niccicola

Karenelli Posted 26 Jan 2009 , 8:21pm
post #1 of 17

I am just beginning to learn to use sugarveil and wanted to know if anyone has any advice? Do's and Don'ts. Setup times, etc. I have just practiced once on a cake and found that the amount of time you have before the brittle stage is pretty short. How do you adjust that...if you can. Anybody?????

16 replies
Karenelli Posted 27 Jan 2009 , 1:25pm
post #2 of 17

Has anyone tried Sugarveil that can give me a little advice??????
Bump!

grama_j Posted 27 Jan 2009 , 1:29pm
post #3 of 17

I wish I could help, but I have never used it....... do you have the entire set up, or did you just get the packet ? I would LOVE to try this stuff !

Karenelli Posted 27 Jan 2009 , 2:07pm
post #4 of 17

Grama_J,
I just bought the packet to try it first, not having any idea what it was like. I tried the small cake that you see in my photos and found setup time for the sugarveil is tricky. Before I was finished setting the stencils onthe cake they started to the too quickly and would snap as I removed them...or take them off too soon and they stretch out of shape. I feel that doing a 3 tier wedding cake would really try my patience working the set times for so many stencils. You Would really have to watch the timing of different batches of stencils and alot of time would be needed to place them on the cake ahead of the scheduled due date of the finished cake. The first batch of stencils came out great but I needed to use more the the same mixed sugarveil to make more stencils to finish the cake and the second batch was very finicky and gave me alot of trouble. I can only imaging doing a larger cake would be a real pain. I know I kind of ranted on and on but I hope you get what I am saying.
Karen

grama_j Posted 27 Jan 2009 , 2:17pm
post #5 of 17