Castle Cake Suggestions

Decorating By KristenL Updated 25 Jan 2009 , 11:11pm by prcutie71

KristenL Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 8:32pm
post #1 of 4

Hello All!!
I just purchased the Fantasy Castle Cake set from Wilton. My daughter saw the picture of this cake and decided that she wanted it for her 4th birthday. I was reading the directions that came with the set and decided that I should ask if anyone has any suggestions on making this cake. I'm hoping it won't be as difficult as I am imagining. I'm fairly new to decorating cakes and would appreciate any tips!
Thanks!
~Kristen

3 replies
milissasmom Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 8:51pm
post #2 of 4

I have never used this kit although I have seen it. I know there are tons of pics on this site that have castle cakes that didn't use this kit and I must say, they look way better than the ones with the kit. I would search the gallery and take a look-see! If you see anything you like, read through the comments and there are usually some sort of questions answered that will guide you into making the cake. If not, you can always contact the creator and they are usually pretty kind and will be glad to give advice. Good luck

lolobell Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 8:53pm
post #3 of 4

I just made this for the first time in Dec and need to do it again in Feb. I'll be honest, I'm a newbie too and it was overwhelming. My suggestions are as follows (based on my experience)

1. plan ahead, it is time consuming so make everything you can ahead of time.
2. I used MMF for flowers and the sides of the cake. I made the flowers 2 weeks ahead of time and kept them on a big tray covered in plastic. I made my royal icing 1 week ahead as well as my buttercream.
3. I had my husband drill holes in the turrets that I used on top of the cake so I could put the dowel through the hole and into the cake for more stability.