My Fondant Is Dry!

Decorating By I_Can Updated 25 Jan 2009 , 11:42pm by I_Can

I_Can Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
I_Can Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 1:39am
post #1 of 5

So, I'm new to fondant. This is my second time making it and I notice towards the end of the porcess my fondant became very dry and had no elasticity. This confused me because the only other time I've made it I didn't use all the sugar and my fondant seem to come out ok. I made figures with it initially but I had to add more sugar to the fondant in order to cover my cake because eventually it became sticky. I'm taking a deco. class and my teacher advise us to use a MMF but she didn't supply a recipe. I've been using a MMF recipe off of this site. To my knowledge I did everyhing as asked and can't understand why it's sooo dry. Is there something I can do to fix it? What could I have possibly done wrong?

4 replies
schnumvf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
schnumvf Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 3:26am
post #2 of 5

Well, I'm not a pro, but I have made my fair share of MMF. How are you measuring your sugar? Are you going by cup or by weight? If you are measuring by cup remember never to scoop. Always use something else (I use a TBSP) to scoop the sugar from bag to the cup. You don't want it packed in there.

If thats not the problem you can try adding a few drops of additional water. Drops, not teaspoons. Or you could pop the fondant back in the microwave for a few seconds.

I always grease my hands and working surface with crisco before I start. And really work the fondant. You should kneed it for a few minutes after all of your sugar has been added.

The MMF recipe I use came from the Wilton Discussion Forums.

If I remember correctly, a large batch (which is massive!) needs

16oz marshmallows
2TBSP water

put in lg bowl and microwave. I usually put it in for 1 minute and watch it. When it starts puffing up it's done. Give it a good mix.

Then I dump it into my KA (w/ dough hook att.)