Fondant Ontop Of Bc Question....

Decorating By cakesbyjen Updated 26 Jan 2009 , 12:42am by ladyonzlake

cakesbyjen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbyjen Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 1:20am
post #1 of 13

so, i've done cakes before where people want it iced in BC, but i've found that it makes the fondant look greasey, around the edges and all.... but i'm wondering if there is a way around this? i like the crispness of using fondant on BC but i hate how sloppy it looks....

12 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 2:56am
post #2 of 13

Not sure what you mean by "greasy". What is the fat/sugar ratio in your BC .... how 'greasy' is the icing to start with? I'm a fondant newbie, but haven't run into this greasy effect.

cakesbyjen Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 3:59am
post #3 of 13

i don't know what the ratio is/was because it was at a bakery i worked for and i didn't do much of the bc mixing...

but "greasy" meaning where the fondant was touching the bc it looked "wet", where the middle of the fondant looked the normal dry color and everything...

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 4:03am
post #4 of 13

Well, I'm useless as far as coming up with an answer, but I'm hanging around to see what others might say .... if I ever run into this, I want to know what causes it and how to fix it.

We may be waiting awhile ... the big party gathering is in the Officially Embarrassed thread right now! icon_lol.gif

ladyonzlake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyonzlake Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 4:19am
post #5 of 13

Hmm, that's strange. I do fondant accents on BC all of the time and I've never had it look greasy on the edges. Are you sure you're not touching it with BC fingers when applying it?

cakesbyjen Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 6:32am
post #6 of 13