Anyone Know Of A Forum..

Business By FlowerGirlMN Updated 22 Jan 2009 , 9:02pm by Jackie

FlowerGirlMN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlowerGirlMN Posted 22 Jan 2009 , 12:33pm
post #1 of 42

Just outta curiosity, does anyone happen to know if there are any forums out there specifically for / limited to people with actual, LEGAL cake businesses?

I was on a forum like that when I was a floral designer, and it was nice. Everyone was verified as actually having a business / being a designer for a real business, and the vibe was totally different. The posting experience was different too, because we all knew that we were chatting with our peers, and that our industry talk and advice wouldn't be getting out to the general public.

For example, if someone had an idea for a technique, ideas could be freely exchanged without worry that our "behind the scenes magic" was being read by every bride who wandered in to get tips on doing it herself.

Know what I mean?

41 replies
KeltoKel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KeltoKel Posted 22 Jan 2009 , 1:23pm
post #2 of 42

I don't know of any forum, but I think the beauty of this site (which IMO, is the best out there) is that we can all learn from each other - no matter how experienced. Some of the hobbyists on this site are better than the actual business owners (again, IMO). Being a legal business does not make you better at decorating or knowing how to construct/bake cakes. Afterall, you don't have to pass a class (or even take a class) to open your own cake shop.

Also, I don't think a non-experienced cake decorator (or a bride as you referred to) could ever replicate what some of the greats do on this site. I don't see any secrets being "let out" but maybe I misunderstood your post?

But to answer your question, I don't know of any site that verifies the "real" decorators vs. "the hobbyists."

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 22 Jan 2009 , 2:02pm
post #3 of 42