Business By Bonniecakes08 Updated 26 Jan 2009 , 7:06am by jules06

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 22 Jan 2009 , 5:19am
post #31 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrapperjade

Quote:
Originally Posted by indydebi

Getting on the "wouldn't touch it' bandwagon.

btw, I use mixes for cakes and they hold up just fine under fondant. I have my top tier from my birthday cake sitting on my counter right now ... it's 7 days old and still looks/tastes great.

Really??? I find my box mixes SO crumbly, I just assumed it would crash with the weight of the fondant on it plus stacked... if it holds up, why do people add pudding mix & stuff (this is an honest question, I'm a total newbie to caking!)...

First, there is not such thing as "the weight of the stacked" cakes because the upper tiers are not being supported by the cake ... they are being supported by the dowels, the straws, the SPS system, whatever support system you are using.

I use Choco-Pan which can be rolled out really thin. The reason I steered way from fondant for so long is because I don't like the look of thick fondant on a cake. I've not done many fondant cakes, but the ones I have done have held up just fine with mix cakes.

Pudding, dream whip, extra eggs, sour cream, etc are added to cake mixes to enhance flavors, not just to 'firm up' the cake.

I use Betty Crocker mixes and I've not had a crumbly issue with them. Sifting your cake mixes also helps the texture (boy, what a difference that makes! I couldn't BELIEVE how much better the cakes turn out when I started doing this a couple of years ago! Give it a try!)

scrapperjade Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scrapperjade Posted 22 Jan 2009 , 5:25am
post #32 of 47

Thanks Debi! I will try sifting my mix together next time!

Ruth0209 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ruth0209 Posted 22 Jan 2009 , 5:30am
post #33 of 47