How Do I Teach Myself Sugar Art?

Decorating By AllyCake90 Updated 20 Apr 2009 , 11:02am by courtney1009

AllyCake90 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AllyCake90 Posted 21 Jan 2009 , 1:54pm
post #1 of 9

Being a self-taught cake decorator, I feel passionately about all of the elements that go with it! Which is why I am very, very interested in teaching myself sugar art techniques. I don't really know where to begin...should I check out a book & use trial & error...or???
Also, does anybody have any great sites for teaching sugar art techniques? This is something that I believe will vastly improve my repertoire of "cake decorating skills." icon_smile.gif I am hoping to create some more masterpieces [with sugarart! lol] Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you so much!
icon_smile.gif

8 replies
TooMuchCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TooMuchCake Posted 22 Jan 2009 , 1:50pm
post #2 of 9

Welcome!

If you let us know what areas of sugar art you're most interested in, we can help steer you to resources that apply more specifically to what you'd like to learn.

In general, though, you may want to consider taking a basic Wilton decorating course through a local craft store. Even people who have been decorating a bit on their own can pick up tips through the classes.

Read the posts here on Cake Central. Lots of info here on you-name-it!

If you can learn by reading, there are MANY good books available (I recommend Nicholas Lodge's International School of Su garcraft books for the variety of techniques in them). If you are visual, you can get videos, both on YouTube and by mail order. Several of us CC'ers have books and/or videos, so when you're reading posts, check people's signature lines to see who has them available.