What Should I Charge?

Business By mrsclox Updated 2 Jun 2009 , 3:54am by Renaejrk

mrsclox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsclox Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 11:48pm
post #1 of 19

I'm very new to this business. I just finished my classes in November and thus far have only made 10 cakes. I feel like my prices should still be low being that I'm very much a newbie and am not yet very experienced. I'm looking for pricing suggestions. What would you recommend I charge for a cake like the one in the attached picture? The lady I made this for has asked me to do a Strawberry Shortcake one that will be similar in size.
LL

18 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 18 Jan 2009 , 12:21am
post #2 of 19

I think that $6 a serving is the least anyone anywhere should ever charge for a 3-d sculpture. I mean if you're putting a bow on an 8 inch cake and 'making' it into a box, I mean yes it's 3-d but not like doing a 2 foot clown type 3-d sculpture. kwim

It's so hard to be a newby and not know how to do every technique (I mean not that anybody really does but you know what I mean) and get a grasp on market value of your work.

See the huge huge ginormous biggie is you gotta play nice with the other kids. I mean of course nobody wants to underprice the market because you need the market to be there for you.

Like remember when those brothers bought up all the silver years ago and the prices flatlined and it has never been the same since?

Well while you are getting yourself all up to snuff on everything you still need to do the market justice.

To me I think six dollars is just barely holding our head up respectable and the absolute bargain basement lowest anyone can go with a 3-d sculpture end of the world.

$8 a serving sounds so much better for a minimum. And a $150 minimum is about as basic as we can get. Fair market value.