Anyone Go To Pastry School?

Decorating By sweetkisscakes Updated 17 Jan 2009 , 10:35pm by Bijoudelanuit

sweetkisscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetkisscakes Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 12:29am
post #1 of 9

I love cakes and I want to have my own cake shop someday!
I have been accepted to Johnson and Wales and the french culinary institute for pastry. I think both schools would be a lot of fun but wow! are they expensive. If you went how did you like it? I'd love to just become an apprentice instead but I've had trouble finding someone to take me on. Anyone need a helper? I'm willing to relocate for my big break. It's nice to be young and have nothing to lose lol.

8 replies
DMCG Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DMCG Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 12:45am
post #2 of 9

I went to J&W U. Had a great experience, although they didn't really touch on cake decorating the way we do it here. I don't know if things have changed since then. I graduated in '89.
Good luck with your decision.
You may want to go to work in a bakery first and tell them you're going to school for pastry. You may get a better response that way.

HTH
Danielle icon_wink.gif

mpaigew Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mpaigew Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 1:28am
post #3 of 9