Trying To Ice My Dummy Cakes With Ri Help!!

Decorating By HipnotiqGlamour Updated 15 Jan 2009 , 10:51pm by kakeladi

HipnotiqGlamour Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HipnotiqGlamour Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 1:05am
post #1 of 12

Okay so this is my first time trying to ice a dummy cake.
Ive already smoothed my edges and away I go icing, im thinking things are going to go just fine but then I look down and .....*gasp* all of my RI is running off the sides of the cake.

Okay okay so too thin of a mixture I think and I add a lot more Powered sugar...try again....*gasp* same thing happens..

Is there a recipe for Royal icing frosting that people use on icing dummy cakes?

I just wanna practice and be better....waaaaahhhh icon_cry.gif

11 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 1:59am
post #2 of 12

Are these new pieces of styro? Or have they been iced w/b'cream before?
I bet your didn't whip your royal long enough. If that is the problem adding more sugar isn't going to help that much. Mix up the royal. It take a full 10 minutes (if using a hand help mixer; about 5-7 for a KA).
But...........is there is reason you must use royal? I've done 100s of display cakes in b'cream. Mix some b'cream into that royal and you should have a great icing consistency.

m1m Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
m1m Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 2:05am
post #3 of 12

I am interested in the responses for this post. I would like to try covering styrofoam dummies with fondant, but wonder what you should put underneath? It will need to keep for quite a while, so buttercream would not work.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 2:09am
post #4 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kakeladi

But...........is there is reason you must use royal? I've done 100s of display cakes in b'cream. Mix some b'cream into that royal and you should have a great icing consistency.