How Do I Level A Cake?

Decorating By shal1234 Updated 15 Jan 2009 , 6:36am by shal1234

shal1234 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shal1234 Posted 14 Jan 2009 , 12:59pm
post #1 of 9

Hi, I am fairly new to the whole world of cake decorating. Can anyone tell me how to level a cake? Thanks!!

8 replies
lchristi27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lchristi27 Posted 14 Jan 2009 , 1:05pm
post #2 of 9

Hi,
There are lots of ways this can be done. If you can, buy an agbay leveler. They are really expensive, but I hear they work great. I have the small wilton leveler which works fine for torting cakes. But it's not the best one.

Also, if you cake the cake out of the pan while it's still hot, then put a cutting board with something heavy on top of it, many times that will level the cake as well.

Two other tips I learned here for getting cakes level during baking-take a flower nail, grease it and put it upside down in the cake batter. It will help bring the heat to the middle of the cake and bake it more evenly. Also if you can get bake-even strips, and wrap them around the cake (Soak them for a bit in cold water first), that helps to get even cakes as well.

icon_smile.gif Lisa

sweetbn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetbn Posted 14 Jan 2009 , 1:10pm
post #3 of 9

If the cake has a dome some things you can try are:

- baking the cake at 325 instead of 350, you will need to bake a bit longer
- if using a larger cake pan use a flower nail to help distribute the heat evenly while baking
- using bake even strips, or making your own bake even strips
- cutting the dome off of the cake while it is in the pan using the pan as the guide for the knife

If it is not level because one side is higher than the other when you are adding filling switch the top half of the cake so the high side is on the low side of the bottom and vice versa. (I learned that from Indydebi's advice icon_smile.gif )