Sorry For The Repost But I Tossed And Turned

Decorating By msnrozier Updated 12 Jan 2009 , 10:30pm by newmansmom2004

msnrozier Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msnrozier Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 2:29pm
post #1 of 6

I have a real problem with telling ppl prices, I have two tier tiffany's cake to do but idk what price to tell her! My question is is the a grid or way to come up with a price for single or tiered cakes! I really tossed and turned abt this! I do understand abt 10" cakes to 6" cakes will be different and also cakes with fondant will cost more, but how do u come up with ur prices!? Plz advise I have a few tiered cakes to do and btw... This is my first time doing a tiered cake! TIA. Nikki

5 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 2:53pm
post #2 of 6

A tiered cake is a tiered cake no matter what the occasion it is for.
It get's wedding cake pricing........per serving, using the Wilton chart of servings. That means a 10 & 6 will serve 55 X your price per serving (no less than $3).
So tier size yield plus tier size yield x your price = total cost of cake.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 4:06pm
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by kakeladi

A tiered cake is a tiered cake no matter what the occasion it is for.
It get's wedding cake pricing........per serving, using the Wilton chart of servings. That means a 10 & 6 will serve 55 X your price per serving (no less than $3).
So tier size yield plus tier size yield x your price = total cost of cake.

Yeah, what she said ^^^

<highfive>

7yyrt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
7yyrt Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 6:27pm
post #4 of 6

Add up all of your costs -
ALL of them - from cardboards, electricity, food coloring, to the gas and time you spend buying your ingredients.