I Have To Stop Buying Stuff!!!

Business By Cathy26 Updated 11 Jan 2009 , 10:59pm by CakesByLJ

Cathy26 Posted 11 Jan 2009 , 8:36pm
post #1 of 12

Hi everyone, im pretty new to this and have been buying tools, etc since around October. Im now registered as a business and have insurance, etc.

Ive just got flyers made so this really is it for me, im going to be taking orders from strangers rather than friends of friends, etc - very scary!

I know i wont make a profit this year but im making it worse by buying stuff! every cake i see, i see some tool, etc that i just have to have just to do a dummy cake or just to have "just in case"!!!!

Someone tell me to stop - please!!!! has anyone else this problem? so far this weekend i bought an 8 tier cupcake stand, assorted beads from Hong Kong and a multi flower centre mould as im dying to have a go at proper sugarcraft flowers on a wedding cake with wired beads,etc

I just love all this so much, you could literally never get bored as there's always something new to try! But seriously i think im addicted..... icon_redface.gif

11 replies
indydebi Posted 11 Jan 2009 , 8:57pm
post #2 of 12

Welcome to the world of Normal!!! icon_biggrin.gif

Some stuff you can resist .... don't buy a cake stand until you have an order for a cake that needs that stand ... then you buy it out of the deposit money they give you. don't buy a 16" can pan until you get an order for a 16" cake.

Small tools are hard to resist and we justify it as "we need to practice with these!!"

And in the first year, you DO need to re-invest in your biz with buying new equipment and supplies.

Cathy26 Posted 11 Jan 2009 , 9:07pm
post #3 of 12