Choco-Pan Vs. Fondant

Decorating By baycheeks1 Updated 12 Jan 2009 , 7:07pm by tiggy2

baycheeks1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
baycheeks1 Posted 11 Jan 2009 , 4:59am
post #1 of 16

Ok so what is better choco-pan or fondant? I read that CP covers nearly double of what fondant does...I've never used it before and would just like to know what some of yall think.

I had a tasting today for a wedding cake. The picture that I was given says it is covered in white chocolate which looks like fondant...which I take to be CP. So I would just like to perhaps experiment with CP before I make a cake with it.

Just making sure the price is worth paying to cover the cake. Thanks.

15 replies
auntiecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntiecake Posted 11 Jan 2009 , 5:23am
post #2 of 16

bump I am curious about CP also.

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 11 Jan 2009 , 5:34am
post #3 of 16

I don't know...I just remember that one time they had a cake challenge on Food Network, and the one lady was from the Choco-Pan company and they were having problems with it due to the heat from the lights or something...it kept tearing.

I do know there was a cake lady online who made sort of a "white chocolate plastique" (similar to candy clay but different amounts) and covered her cakes in that. *shrugs* I guess it would work if you are going for a fancy taste.

JenniferMI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenniferMI Posted 11 Jan 2009 , 2:15pm
post #4 of 16

CP is a fondant, it's a chocolate based fondant. You can roll it much thinner than regular fondant because of the chocolate. I make a semi-homemade choc. fondant that is great and less expensive than CP. I love working with choc. based fondant. CP has more of a choc. ratio than most, that's why the heat of the lights gave those gals problems.

Jen icon_smile.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 11 Jan 2009 , 2:33pm
post #5 of 16