3D/sculpted Cake Questions

Decorating By baking1968 Updated 13 Sep 2010 , 7:35am by zespri

baking1968 Posted 11 Jan 2009 , 1:21am
post #1 of 8

Hi everyone!!!! I recently joined CC and am really looking forward to learning here. For the time being, I have some general questions related to 3D/Sculpted Cakes that I'm hoping some of you seasoned pros (smile) can answer. I graduated from a Pastry Arts program last Dec., so I'm not totally new to the world of cakes/decorating. However, as I'm sure many of you know, you learn a lot of the basics with the rest being left up to your work experience. Unfortunately, I live in an area that 3D/Sculpted cakes aren's as big (at least I haven't seen any indication).

Nonetheless, here are the questions:

1. What guidelines are used to determine the number of servings you get from 3D/Sculpted cakes when the designs are always arbitrary?

2. How do you begin learning where your support rods (dowels/other) should be placed in 3D/Sculpted cakes?

3. What should be considered when choosing a cake base/flavor for 3D/Sculpted cakes?

4. I understand the 3D/Sculpted cakes must be frozen to carve. In this case, are there certain cake fillings that shouldn't be used because they don't stand up well to freezing, or sculpting?

5. For 2 dimensional (cutout cakes), are templates used to cout out the design, or is this something that's achieved freehand?

Any help towards answering these questions would be most appreciated.

7 replies
cylstrial Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 12:28pm
post #2 of 8

Welcome to CC Robin! Unfortunately, I can't answer your questions about carving.. I haven't done a carved cake yet.

mgigglin Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 1:01pm
post #3 of 8

I haven't done too many 3D cakes but I'll see if I can help... I know there are others who do awesome 3D on this site, hopefully they will see your post....