Decorating By rcsnickers2 Updated 19 Jan 2009 , 12:45am by kjgjam22

rcsnickers2 Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 8:34pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to cake decorating. I have only sold two cakes so far. My cheap 9 dollar hand mixer finally died. I would LOVE to buy a Kitchenaide but cannot bring myself to paying the price. I was curious on what you guys use? Are there any cheaper versions of the Kitchenaide stand mixers? I saw a Hamilton Beach stand/hand mixer for $30. It came with beaters, whip and hooks. I has a 4qt bowl and six speeds. What should I look for in a good mixer without having to pay a lot of money that I don't have!

10 replies
karateka Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 7:23pm
post #2 of 11

I dont' know much about other mixers. Kitchenaid is definitely the gold standard. If you can find a refurbished one for less, I'd recommend it.
Consider that you will be using it a lot and will get your money's worth for sure. If a cheaper one craps out on ya, that's $30 you could have put toward a kitchenaid.

If you are dead set against it, though, make sure you have plenty of power, and planetary mixing action is soooo nice. You want it to be able to mix all the batter, not just what's directly around the beaters. SO maybe if they just spin, you'd need a bowl that rotates as well.

melissad Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 2:21am
post #3 of 11

I put off getting a Kitchenaid for years, due to expense & limited counter space, but now that I have mine I wish I'd gotten it sooner. It actually saves time when mixing things up because you can leave it mixing and go on to measuring/prepping the next ingrediant(s) vs. being "tied" to the hand mixer.