What Is The Best Way To Store Fondant / Sugarpaste?

Decorating By hailinguk Updated 11 Jan 2009 , 2:02pm by cupcakemkr

hailinguk Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 12:09am
post #1 of 13

Hi there,

I'm a complete newbie and am so glad I found this site!

I just wondered if anyone knows the best way to store fondant / sugarpaste / gumpaste?

I bought some white fondant yesterday and coloured it at home but didn't use it all. I wrapped the remaining fondant well in cling film and when I opened it today it was dry to the touch all the way around. I had to peel the top layer off to get to the soft bit inside!

Thanks icon_smile.gif

12 replies
bashini Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 10:33am
post #2 of 13

Hi, welcome to CC. You have to wrap it well and store in an airtight box.

HTH.

hailinguk Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 11:14am
post #3 of 13

Perfect, thanks bashini x

CookieMeister Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 2:10pm
post #4 of 13

I've just started working with fondant and had the same issue, and read somewhere that you should coat the fondant with shortening, then wrap it in cling wrap and then put it in an airtight container. Is that overkill?

CookieMeister Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 2:11pm
post #5 of 13

I've just started working with fondant and had the same issue, and read somewhere that you should coat the fondant with shortening, then wrap it in cling wrap and then put it in an airtight container. Is that overkill?

CookieMeister Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 2:13pm
post #6 of 13

CookieMeister Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 2:13pm
post #7 of 13

cupcakemkr Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 2:38pm
post #8 of 13

With my satin ice, i use what i need then wrap up the remaining - still in tis original plastic and then flip it over in the bucket and put the lid on making sure that i press air out of the container (burp it icon_smile.gif ).

For my mmf I slather it in crisco, wrap it 2x in saran wrap then into a baggie that i press all of the air out of.

CookieMeister Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 2:46pm
post #9 of 13