Renting A Kitchen

Business By cblupe Updated 27 Jan 2009 , 5:29am by Chef_Stef

cblupe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cblupe Posted 7 Jan 2009 , 11:27pm
post #1 of 16

I was wondering if I found a kitchen from an existing business (currently a caterer that doesn't seem to have much business) if I rented her kitchen (me - a very, very beginner) if you folks knew if rent could be offered as a percentage of each cake I sell in the beginning. I am new to this state and don't know anyone and would have to develop a following. If you thought that this would be feasible what percentage would be appropriate in the beginning and increasing as business increased?

Thanks for any input,
Carol

15 replies
MaisieBake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaisieBake Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 9:32pm
post #2 of 16

That's a sucker bet for the kitchen owner. What her space is worth on the open market is totally unrelated to how much business you do, what your costing is, and how honest you are in reporting to her your income.

MaisieBake Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 9:35pm
post #3 of 16

That's a sucker bet for the kitchen owner. What her space is worth on the open market is totally unrelated to how much business you do, what your costing is, and how honest you are in reporting to her your income.

MaisieBake Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 9:37pm
post #4 of 16

MaisieBake Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 9:39pm
post #5 of 16

MaisieBake Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 9:40pm
post #6 of 16

(Apologies for the multiple posts. I've been getting SQL errors.)

MaisieBake Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 9:40pm
post #7 of 16

(Apologies for the multiple posts. I've been getting SQL errors.)

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 11:50pm
post #8 of 16

As a kitchen owner who would be willing to rent out her down time, I would NEVER take a percentage of the cake as rent. Let me share some reasons why: