Wedding Cake Question

Decorating By crazymommyof3 Updated 15 Jan 2009 , 3:01am by shanasweets

crazymommyof3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crazymommyof3 Posted 5 Jan 2009 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 12

I am fairly new to decorating and I was asked today about doing a wedding cake for a coworker's wedding in October. The pic she emailed me is a 3 tiered square with space between each layer for real flowers to be tucked in. She wants burnt orange calalillies which she says she'll get from a wholesaler. She wants to serve probably 150. the design is simple enough. It looks like fondant, but she wants buttercream. It's just smooth with a ribbon at the bottom of each tier. My questions are

1. How do I even guess how many flowers to have her get? Not knowing how big they actually are makes it hard.
2. what stacking system would be appropriate for this design?

sorry, my mac is old and won't let me post pics. I hope I described the cake well enough. Not sure if I want to tackle this or not.

11 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 5 Jan 2009 , 11:37pm
post #2 of 12

As long as she's getting SILK calla lilies, since this is a toxic flower and should NOT be placed in contact with food.
http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/hort/consumer/poison/Zanteae.htm My brides are responsible for obtaining all florals .. silk or real. The best you can do is give her the space dimensions and have her figure it out .... or both of you walk thru it together. (i.e. "Two inches in height, 4" open space on all four sides" etc)

Stacking System: I'd recommend the hidden pillars: http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=3E3119F0-475A-BAC0-5772682F766C019C&killnav=1 I used them on this cake: http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1119353 . It gave just enough space to tuck flowers in there and they are nice and sturdy to support the cake.

crazymommyof3 Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 4:43pm
post #3 of 12