Please Help With Stacked Cake Construction! Much Appreciated

Decorating By Jeannie21 Updated 19 Jan 2009 , 4:24am by sugarshack

Jeannie21 Posted 4 Jan 2009 , 4:06am
post #1 of 9

HI all! Im new to the site and I wanted to introduce myself and ask a few questons. My name is Jeannie, I live in Kansas and I'm still fairly new to cake decorating (a few months). But I know that I will be doing it forever because I enjoy both decorating them and seeing the faces of friends etc... when they see them icon_lol.gif
Anyway, Im so excited because I finally recieved my pan set I have been waiting for! (I didnt have a nice graduated sized set) and they are 3 inches deep and the sizes are 6, 10 and 14.
So my questions are : Is this set a good standard pan set?
Do I need to use a heating core to cook the cakes in them?(or a flower nail)
For a nice stacked cake would I bake 2 of each size for each cake tier, or do most of you just stick with one?
And lastly, I have never done a stacked cake before(Im so excited!) and I was wondering what the best method of construction is? Do i use dowels or the plastic wilton cores? Do i need cake circles? and If you have a link to HOW to properly consruct a stacked cake I would greatly appreciate it.
Im so sorry if this is alot of questions but I would really like to do this right! And thank you in advance, I love CC and all the tips and inspirations I get on here!! icon_biggrin.gif

8 replies
liapsim Posted 4 Jan 2009 , 4:24am
post #2 of 9

Hi Jeannie and welcome! Sounds like a good pan set....you might want to throw in a set of 8" as well. I assume they are round...are you wanting to do square or oval too? The same measurements are a good idea as well.

I use a flower nail to put in the center...heating cores tend to be a pain!!!

I use 2 of each tier when doing a stacked cake....especially wedding cakes.