3D/carved Cake Pricing?

Business By mama5kiddos Updated 17 Jan 2009 , 2:39am by TooMuchCake

mama5kiddos Posted 4 Jan 2009 , 12:19am
post #1 of 23

Currently I am charging about $2.50 for a basic round/square party/wedding cake. Decorations on top of that are easy for me to figure out. However, I have come across my first 3D cake order, and am having a hard time figuring out how much to charge.

They would like a cake similar to this one in the link below, with a logo on the cap. Done in all buttercream frosting only, no fondant work (and no stars). To serve approx 15-20ppl. How much would you charge for a cake like this? I am thinking of about the $80 range?

TIA!

http://blog.pinkcakebox.com/baseball-hat-birthday-cake-2007-10-07.htm

22 replies
kayla1505 Posted 4 Jan 2009 , 12:41am
post #2 of 23

the link doesnt work, so i couldnt see the pic. Im not that good at chargeing but ive heard many people say carved cakes should start at $5 a serving

hope it helps

mama5kiddos Posted 4 Jan 2009 , 1:27am
post #3 of 23

Okay, I have since edited the original link to the cake pic, so you can see the one specifically I was talking about. Thanks in advance for your help!

cambo Posted 4 Jan 2009 , 4:30am
post #4 of 23

My 3D pricing starts at $4/serving, and depending on the complexity, goes up from there. I would consider this an easier "shaped" cake to make. You could use 1/2 of the sports ball pan for the cap...on top of 8" 2-layer rounds. No real 3D carving, just some slight carving on the outside of the 2-layer cake to angle the sides! Since you're carving away some of the 2-layer cake, you could bump it up to 10" rounds to ensure enough servings. I think $80 is fair for this cake....that's about what I could get for it in my area!

cambo Posted 4 Jan 2009 , 4:34am
post #5 of 23