Copycat Cake Mix Recipes??

Baking By lkoenig07 Updated 2 Jan 2009 , 4:18pm by steplite

lkoenig07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lkoenig07 Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 1:42am
post #1 of 8

Ok, so I'm fairly new at cake decorating (it's been almost a year) & I'm still trying to find the recipes I want to use for good. I haven't found any. I've tried a bunch, and I always make from scratch... unless I'm making a cake for free - in which case I use box mixes. The problem is, my scratch cakes aren't bad, they're just very heavy. Box mixes are very light & fluffy, and it seems like everyone raves about those cakes. So I decided that I'd like to find a recipe that is a copycat from a box mix, so I can make it from scratch. Or at least find light & fluffy cake recipes that I know people will love & rave about. Anyone have any??

7 replies
Deniro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deniro Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 3:29am
post #2 of 8

I have'nt tried alot of scratch recipes myself. Someone on this web site recommended I try the cake mix from smart and final. I really liked how light and moist it was and it didn't taste like a boxed cake which is great. People won't even realize its store bought! I find it less expensive than baking from scratch.

Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 11:12am
post #3 of 8