Question For All Who Have Taken A Wilton Class

Decorating By CakesbyBecca Updated 4 Jan 2009 , 6:53pm by TheLadybugCook

Amalia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amalia Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 9:06pm
post #31 of 38

Congratulations and best wishes on your new adventure as a WMI! I have been teaching for 8 years and have been enriched by my experiences teaching. Like so others have said, it is amazing to see the transformation some students go through in class. Many good suggestions have been posted and my advice is to work your class program from the inside-out. You should put up flyers in the store, do paid demos, make displays (you also get paid for these), plan your schedule of classes 3-6 months in advance, etc. I think however, that the most important thing is to market your classes in the store to the employees. They do not train employees on Wilton or the registration process. You will find many of the employees don't even know that classes are offered. No mater who is in charge of the registration book, make sure all the cashiers know how to register customers for classes. "Sell" the classes to the employees. Make sure they know about the classes and ask them to tell the customers. They can be your best tool or your worst barrier to getting customers to sign up for classes. More than likely you will spend a limited amount of time in the store as the WMI. If you are also the EC, you might have more time but I am sure they will keep you busy. When you are not there the other employees can be your best asset in advertising your classes in the store.

Please also check Yahoo Groups for WiltonMI for a group of WMI's from all over the World. It's a great place for help, advice and to relate your experiences as a WMI. It is not affiliated with Wilton or any of it accounts other than we all teach Wilton classes.

Amalia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amalia Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 9:11pm
post #32 of 38