Which Paste For Modelling?

Decorating By scorpio66 Updated 28 Dec 2008 , 9:17pm by bettinashoe

scorpio66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scorpio66 Posted 27 Dec 2008 , 3:55pm
post #1 of 9

Hi all.

As a complete noob to this site, please bear with me !!
I am a UK guy who somehow got trapped into this cake decorating.
Last November my wife was ill, and in an emergency I made a cake for my boys 6th Birthday.
It was a Treasure chest on a beach, and although I thought it was OK (though nothing special), I am now getting a fair amount of requests from friends etc to make cakes. I did a few at Christmas, and have some orders for Easter.... gasp !! (All from a dodgy chest...).

Now I am hooked, and I am particularly interested in modelling figures, admiring the work of Maisie Parrish & Karen Davies. (True Artists!)

Now the crunch..
I do have some books which I am reading and trying to divulge all the info, and having great fun practising (and eating disasters.... lol) cakes.

My problem is that I cant get my head around the different pastes (Sugarpaste, Modelling Paste, Fondant, Pastillage etc etc).

Which is best for modelling figures and why?
Is it purely down to preference as different decorators use different pastes.

I would greatly appreciate any advice at all on this as I would like to start the right way !
(I currently use fondant, which I THINK is sugarpaste for my figures)

Happy Decorating
Scorpio66

8 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 27 Dec 2008 , 8:14pm
post #2 of 9

Hi and Welcome to CC, scorpio66. icon_smile.gif

Decoding CC acronyms:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-2926-.html

While Americans and Brits (and Aussies, etc.) can use the same words, the meanings aren't always the same... icon_lol.gif

Gumpaste, fondant, etc.:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-613360-.html

American Baking and Decorating Terms:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopicp-4259883-.html