Fondant Wrinkles

Decorating By anews Updated 26 Dec 2008 , 1:31am by indydebi

anews Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
anews Posted 25 Dec 2008 , 2:12am
post #1 of 8

I am new to cake decorating. I have two pictures posted and with both I have had problems. With round cakes I have some difficulty with the wrinkles in the fondant as I smooth it. With square cakes, it seems impossible. Can anyone give me some suggestions how to handle this or share some tips? The other problem I am having is the difficultly of covering a fondant covered cake. Is this usual? Help!

7 replies
cecerika Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cecerika Posted 25 Dec 2008 , 2:20am
post #2 of 8

Well, I'm certainly no expert,but I really advise to knead, knead, knead the fondant first. Next, roll it out to wear it is way way bigger than the cake. This always helps me. Also, use a fondant smoother. Make sure that you don't roll out to thin or it will tear. Practice, practice, practice.

ladybug76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladybug76 Posted 25 Dec 2008 , 2:27am
post #3 of 8

There are tons of articles here on CC to help give little tid bits on covering a cake in fondant. Here's one link for a square cake....

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopic-562276-0-days0-orderasc-.html

You want to make sure your fondant is 'just the right' thickness - not too thick or not too thin.