Fondant Too Sticky/greasy?

Decorating By Beckief Updated 25 Dec 2013 , 10:58am by cmnmaldonado

Beckief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beckief Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 3:19am
post #1 of 15

Is there a way I can fix this? I did MMF with crisco and PS. But its just too greasy. This is my first time using fondant of any type. I am just playing around, teaching myself.....I have colored it, is it too late for a fix???

Thanks!

14 replies
gerripje Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gerripje Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 3:32am
post #2 of 15

I'm pretty new at this too, but I think I would try kneading in some ps and see what that does. I just kinda experiment around and see what happens!

this-mama-rocks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
this-mama-rocks Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 3:42am
post #3 of 15

I would add PS, about a half a cup at a time. Knead it in, see how it feels, then add additional half cups until it feels OK. HTH!

Beckief Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 3:50am
post #4 of 15

I have been doing that, but I am almost out of PS!! lol
Plus it is VERY warm in my house, ATM. We are in the middle of an almost blizzard! So, I put the fondant in ziplock bags and threw them in the snow to chill for a bit. If that messes it up, oh well.....I am just playing around anyway. lol Practice makes perfect, right??

stephaniescakenj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephaniescakenj Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 5:15am
post #5 of 15

Maybe try rolling it out with cornstarch instead of PS. That always works for me. I usually dust my mat with cornstarch then dust the hunk of fondant with another light sprinkling of corn starch and roll out.

Sweetcakes23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweetcakes23 Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 5:38am
post #6 of 15

I agree with Steph, cornstarch will help dry it up. But, make sure when switching from a workspace that has crisco on it, to using cornstarch or PS, to clean the workarea. Otherwise i find that I start getting a gritty feel to the fondant.