I Thought I'd Share My First Fondant Pinecones...

Decorating By KathyTW Updated 24 Dec 2008 , 9:01pm by KathyTW

KathyTW Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 12:06am
post #1 of 19

This is my first attempt at creating pinecones ... I didn't wan't to do them out of buttercream since all the other decorations for the cake will be fondant - so I gave it a shot....I would do things different next time but I think they'll work fine for the cake I'm working on now.

I used leftover (from July) chocolate MMF which was made from choc marshmallows I found at Walmart this summer and a little leftover WCF I made a couple of weeks ago that was way too soft, and then I mixed in a little tylose powder so it would dry a little faster.

Any suggestions for improvement will be appreciated!
LL
LL

18 replies
indydebi Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 12:17am
post #2 of 19

wow, those look pretty good! Doesn't look like a first-time project. thumbs_up.gif

Shyanne_Mommy Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 12:17am
post #3 of 19

Well I think they look GREAT!!!

fiddlesticks Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 12:17am
post #4 of 19

Oh they look adorable ! You did a great job on them .. The only think I can see is maybe change the rounded middle a little bit.. Im not sure how ,maybe not so big or so rounded?? But then again what do I know ! Nicely done !!

sugarwishes Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 12:39am
post #5 of 19

WOW those are awesome!!! what did you use for the center? i can't believe this was your first time making them!!! i dont see how you can improve, THEY'RE PERFECT!!! i love em

terrylee Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 12:49am
post #6 of 19

There perfect.......Great job....post the cake if you can.....

JenniferMI Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 12:50am
post #7 of 19

Those are really nice!!!

Jen icon_smile.gif

kandu001 Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 5:01pm
post #8 of 19

Adorable! You did a great job!

peg91170 Posted 21 Dec 2008 , 5:27pm
post #9 of 19