Simple Syrup Goes Bad Fast

Decorating By sweettoothmom1 Updated 5 Feb 2009 , 3:22am by ILE

sweettoothmom1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettoothmom1 Posted 18 Dec 2008 , 3:59am
post #1 of 16

lots of questions. i'm a newbie. I use simple syrup with bacardi rum. (1) how soon after putting on cake can i put bc and fondant ? i was taught to wait overnite. will it hurt if i do it sooner? (2) after 2 days at room temp, it smells a little and gets a bit sticky, as if going bad. what am i doing wrong? (3) how long in advance can i make a cake ? (4) how long in adv if stored in fridge vs. freezer? thanks!

15 replies
alliebear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alliebear Posted 18 Dec 2008 , 4:03am
post #2 of 16

if u store it in the fridge you should only keep for about a week and a bit and then make a fresh batch. i am not sure about the freezer... for some reason i am thinking it might not freeze because of the sugar content.. or it may crystlize...or something weird. maybe just make as much as u think you r going to need. and in my experiance, i only waited long enough for the syrup to absorb before icing

alliebear Posted 18 Dec 2008 , 4:06am
post #3 of 16

oh and it should always be stored in the fridge not at room temp

sweettoothmom1 Posted 18 Dec 2008 , 4:10am
post #4 of 16

i usually decorate it the day before the event. i meant 2 days after the event, it seems to be going off a bit. that means its been out for 3 days or so, since after decor, it doesnt go back in fridge. is that normal shelf life ?

saap1204 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saap1204 Posted 18 Dec 2008 , 4:18am
post #5 of 16

I keep my simple syrup for approximately a month in the frig--I have never had a problem with it.

In regards to yor questions:

1) I let the simple syrup soak in for a few minutes while I tort my remaining layers; then I dam, fill and crumb coat immediately.

2) What type of bc are you using?