3 Shortcuts That Worked For Me Today

Decorating By banananutmuffin Updated 19 Dec 2008 , 11:40am by Frankyola

banananutmuffin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
banananutmuffin Posted 18 Dec 2008 , 12:35am
post #1 of 11

All you experienced cakers already know this stuff, I know. But since I'm a newbie to baking/decorating cake, I thought other newbies might find value in the three shortcuts I tried today:

1. Pan grease: I used the recipe from the Cake Mix Doc book, which is 2 cups crisco and 1 cup flour. Blended it thoroughly and stored it in a plastic container. Today I used it and my cakes released cleanly and easily. I LOVE that I don't have the mess of flouring my pans anymore.

2. "Dump" WASC: I prefer to bake from a cake mix, but even doctored with pudding/dream whip they always tasted like mix. Wanted to try the WASC everyone raves about, but hated the extra step of mixing dry ingredients before adding to wet (I am a lazy baker). Today I made WASC (original recipe by kakeladi) by mixing wet ingredients in bowl then just dumping in the dry ingredients (without premixing them). Worked great! Cake turned out moist, dense and delish. This was my first WASC, and I was thrilled. (Although it's possible that following the recipe directions would have made an even better cake, so my WASC might still have been lower quality.) Thanks to pinkbox for letting me know that a "dump" WASC was possible!

3. Leveling in cake pan: The WASC rose so nicely with no dip in the center, so I was able to level in the pan for the first time. I used a serrated knife and used the top of the pan as my guide for cutting off the top of the cake. Easy peasy! Experienced bakers know this trick, but this was a new one to me that I just read about here a few days ago.

So I know none of this was amazing, ground breaking info... but maybe it'll help another newbie save some time and mess in the kitchen.

10 replies
Monkess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile