Help With Coloring Icing Please!

Baking By MamaYogi Updated 26 Dec 2008 , 10:17pm by DsLady614

MamaYogi Posted 15 Dec 2008 , 7:20pm
post #1 of 8

I am new to the world of fancy cookie decorating and I love it! I used an icing recipe called Meringue Powder Buttercream to ice my cookies. I made a glaze. I am having trouble getting the icing the true color of christmas red and also true christmas green. I use Wilton gels but the color comes out more light red and light green. I see so many pictures on this site with the vibrant real colors and I want that too! What should I be doing or using? Do you typically have to use alot of the gel? Maybe I am not using enough? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

7 replies
chutzpah Posted 15 Dec 2008 , 7:30pm
post #2 of 8

Americolor is better, actually. Do your coloring the day before so the colors have time to mature. Sometimes they darken overnight. Sometimes you have to use TONS of coloring!

JenWhitlock Posted 16 Dec 2008 , 12:02am
post #3 of 8

I agree. everyone loves the Americolor (but I haven't used it yet)

you can get those vibrant colors with wilton colors (which I use a lot) but you need TONS of color - don't use a toothpick - use a knife or tiny spoon.

also, leting it set will often intensify the color, plus it seems to me that I get more color bleeding with "fresh" mixed reds and blacks than those that have sat for a day.

good luck!

cakedesigner59 Posted 20 Dec 2008 , 12:24am
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by JenWhitlock

also, leting it set will often intensify the color, plus it seems to me that I get more color bleeding with "fresh" mixed reds and blacks than those that have sat for a day.

good luck!

Perhaps you can help me...I ruined some nice cookies this week, the black bled all over the white. I am crushed about it. I also had the same thing happen with a design I put on a buttercream iced cake. Am I using too much black? What is the secret to keeping black where it belongs?
Thanks!