Help! Winter Is Here!

Decorating By Boofycakes Updated 16 Dec 2008 , 11:45pm by SILVERCAT

Boofycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Boofycakes Posted 14 Dec 2008 , 5:34pm
post #1 of 20

Winter is here, the weather is cold and dry. And it is taking a toll on my best tools of the trade, MY HANDS! I am a baker, decorator AND an artist. My hands are constantly underwater from washing, cleaning, dishes...you name it! My hands are typically dry from washing, but winter in Chicago makes it especially bad! I don't want to hand over another cake to a customer with ugly hands! PLEASE HELP!

What hand creams/body lotions do you recommend? I feel like I've tried everything from Avon, to Burt's Bees, to Jergen's, to Vaseline... etc. Some I've noticed work better than others, but remember, I'm a starving artist here! Ironic since I'm a baker.... but I cant afford $20 bottles of lotion! I want the most bang for the buck. Any tried and true favorites? And how about soaps?

Thanks in advance!

19 replies
-Tubbs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-Tubbs Posted 14 Dec 2008 , 5:42pm
post #2 of 20

Wear gloves to give your hands a break?

I like the cream that's for Norwegian fishermen.

Natalie in Calgary, where it's -29 centigrade today, -39 with the wind chill. Winter is most definitely here!

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 14 Dec 2008 , 5:43pm
post #3 of 20

Although I have not tried it myself, I've heard nothing but the highest of praise for Corn Husker's Lotion:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000SY24C0/?tag=cakecentral-20

ladybug76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladybug76 Posted 14 Dec 2008 , 5:45pm
post #4 of 20