Fondant Problems-Checking And Cracking

Decorating By thecakelady071656 Updated 10 Dec 2008 , 6:12pm by AKA_cupcakeshoppe

thecakelady071656 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakelady071656 Posted 8 Dec 2008 , 4:37am
post #1 of 5

I have been making cakes for over 30 years and started using fondant about 3 years ago due to pressure from my customers. I continually have a problem with "checking"on the edges and cracking at various spots on the sides of the cakes. The checking is visable when smoothing the fondant on the cake. The cracks seem to appear hours later. I fill and crumb coat the cakes and then add a thin layers of butter cream before applying the fondant. I just did a 4 tier wedding cake. I had to stack the bottom three tiers early in the day (about 10 a.m. for a 3 p.m. reception) to do some fondant ribbons on the sides. I had several cracks on the sides of the bottom layer. I have tried kneading it with the mixer (which really helps with air bubbles), rolling it alittle thicker. I can't figure what I am doing wrong. I appreciate any help. Also is there any way to "repair" these cracks?? I am sending a picture. I don't have a close up of the problems, but thought it might help if you saw the cake. As most cake decorators, I am a perfectionist and do not like delivering a cake with any problems.

4 replies
Callyssa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Callyssa Posted 8 Dec 2008 , 5:41am
post #2 of 5

I'm sorry, I don't know what you mean by checking? The cake looks fabulous, I don't know what you're stressing about!! But I'm like that too; just remember that the people you're making cakes for are not cake decorators, otherwise, they'd be making them themselves. They are not going to see every little imperfection that we do.