Ahh...my Saturday Evening Cake-Tastrophe!

Decorating By KeltoKel Updated 24 Dec 2008 , 6:59am by sugarshack

KeltoKel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KeltoKel Posted 7 Dec 2008 , 5:01am
post #1 of 20

Not a major catastrophe, but I just had a hard time with icing my cake tonight. Really, I have been doing cakes for almost 2 years now and icing a cake still causes me such frustration. I hated how my icing looked and so I decided I had to remove it and start over. My top layer of my cake cracked and so I ended up baking a whole new layer. UGH! I will finish the cake tomorrow morning now. I was hoping to have it done by now.

My wonderful husband went out to the store for me at 10 p.m. and bought me some ingredients since I was out. Thank goodness for him!

I don't know what I can do to get better at icing a cake. I can never seem to get it smooth. I even use the Viva method but often my icing cracks and looks bad when it dries. Maybe I am using too much icing, I often put a lot on. I even watch tutorials on-line and it is never that easy for me.

Anyhow, just needed to vent.

19 replies
xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 7 Dec 2008 , 7:49am
post #2 of 20

I can sympathize with you....

Have you ever thought of ordering Sugarshack's perfecting the art of buttercream video? It might help you out.....

Also, I've read somewhere here before that some people use a small amount of vinegar in there icing to help with the cracking (I haven't used it myself yet but I though I'd mention it to you).

sayhellojana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sayhellojana Posted 7 Dec 2008 , 8:04am
post #3 of 20