Totally Awkward Situtation - Long Sorry

Decorating By cakesdivine Updated 6 Dec 2008 , 2:56am by kelleym

cakesdivine Posted 4 Dec 2008 , 3:10am
post #1 of 25

Okay, as some of you may know I not only make cakes for a living but I am also a seasoned (31 years worth) dance educator. Well my hubby who is also a dance educator, and somewhat of a dance industry celeb decided to open a studio here in our area, since the closest studio is over 30 miles away. This area is booming now with families and 3 new schools, an elementary, jr. high & high school have all opened within a 6 mile radius of our chosen location in the last 2 years. We barely finished our website, schedule and have only put up 2 flyers in the area announcing our opening and registration. Well we got a phone call today for a mom who has 2 daughters ages 7 & 10, so I was tickled to call her back with information...

So I call the number left on my home answering machine, and get her answering machine, as I am listening to her machine I am thinking she owns a local wedding dress boutique called Celebrations...I'm thinking DOUBLE NETWORKING! YIPPEE!

Well, before I can leave a message she beeps in so I switch over and state that I was just about to leave her a message and that I am so glad she called back so quickly. I then (thinking I've hit the jackpot) ask her if she was the owner of that boutique, she said No I own Celebrations cakes! This woman is my closest cake competitor! And I had heard from others that she has trashed my cakes, but we have never met, nor has she ever seen any of my work or tasted any of my cakes. (my shop use to be across the street from hers, and I was there a full 6 months before her) We moved due to the old building we were leasing ended up being condemned after we have put over $60000 into new wiring & plumbing, and building a kitchen. So I rent a catering kitchen now and use my spare room as a gallery and consultation area...but I digress!f