Wilton Spray Mist

Decorating By sxyfemm Updated 4 Dec 2008 , 6:04pm by Tita9499

sxyfemm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sxyfemm Posted 3 Dec 2008 , 7:51pm
post #1 of 11

I have been asked to do a two tone red /yellow cake for a bob marley inspired bday cake . As of right now my new airbrush machine is still in transit. I was told I could use the wilton Spray mist to achieve a look similar to airbrushing. Does anyone have any tips regarding this product .I am a new cake designer and I do not want to mess up this cake.
thanks for any and all help
xoxoxo

10 replies
THECAKEPLACE Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
THECAKEPLACE Posted 4 Dec 2008 , 1:46am
post #2 of 11

wiltons spray is really good for buttercream cakes but not so good for fondant. if you do need to use it for fondant only spray a thin layer wait for it to dry then sray another until you reach the color you need

bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 4 Dec 2008 , 1:59am
post #3 of 11

I haven't had good experience with Color Mist. It's hard to control the level of spray you get. If I press to lightly, I get nothing. Press harder, I get blotches. And I found that even though it's supposed to be tasteless, it adds a slight minty taste to buttercream.

apetricek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apetricek Posted 4 Dec 2008 , 2:00am
post #4 of 11

I personally do not like the Wilton spray, especially RED. Sorry! First off when you spray it (red) is comes out like orange, and then to try and achieve the red color, it gets weird and runny. I have used it on buttercream, never fondant. My only suggestion to you is to maybe avoid the spraying and either make your icing those colors, or color your fondant. They also have a weird smell/taste too. I tried using it in the past, and I pretty much threw it right in the garbage, along with what I was attempting to spray. Just trying to save your sanity. Hope this helps, and good luck!

bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile