How Tall Is Too Tall?

Decorating By whisperingmadcow Updated 2 Dec 2008 , 3:39am by indydebi

whisperingmadcow Posted 1 Dec 2008 , 7:12pm
post #1 of 5

So let me first say that I am new to cake decorating. My brother knows that I love it and he asked me to make his wedding cake for him. Its a really small wedding so I made a 6" and a 8" cake to stack. I baked one box between two 6"x2" pans and then two boxes worth in 8" cake. (basicly two 8" cakes). I assembled the 6" first cutting of the tops which gave me 2 cakes at 6"x2". I then used the same height for the 8" cake. Now that everything is together, it looks too tall. I am guessing somewhere between 4" to 5" for each layer. How tall should a standard round cake be?

Also as a side note, what would you have charged for something like that? Just BC with fondant polka Dots.

4 replies
lindambc Posted 1 Dec 2008 , 7:24pm
post #2 of 5

It doesn't sound to high actually. I try to make each of my cakes 4 inches tall. When I first started making cakes I thought it was too high also, but when it all comes together it looks amazing.

Pricing depends on where you are located and what you are doing. I charge between $2.25 and $3 per serving.

P.S. I love your final class cake, really cute!

butterfly831915 Posted 1 Dec 2008 , 7:26pm
post #3 of 5

I don't think that is to tall at all. I've seen much taller. Price depends on your area.

whisperingmadcow Posted 1 Dec 2008 , 7:32pm
post #4 of 5

Thank you both. I just wanted to make sure I didn't creat some kind of mutant cake or something!

I am in denver. How do I find out what the norm is for my location? Just call around and get quotes?

indydebi Posted 2 Dec 2008 , 3:39am
post #5 of 5